My story

19 May

I don’t know how to feel today. Proud? Embarrassed? Maybe a little of both? My story was published at Violence Unsilenced today. It feels great to tell my story, maybe my story can make a difference for someone. It also makes me want to throw up. Every time I read those words, it makes me angry, sad, and sick, and now they’re out there for the whole world to see. I told Chris last night that this was way different than posting my story on my blog, no one reads my blog! Putting it on Violence Unsilenced’s website…well to me, that’s huge. I keep telling myself, this is for the Katherines of the world, the young girls who need to understand how easily it can happen, how quick it can go bad, and how it’s never ok. And its for all the Merritts, who wish they’d known better, wished they’d made a better decision, and lived to tell about it. I hope that telling my story will help someone else. Chris says it’s supposed to help me too…I haven’t decided yet whether or not it has, but either way, I don’t regret it.

Leave a comment