more christmas decorating

27 Nov

Yesterday, you saw that our tree was all red, silver and cream. I wanted to keep the same color theme as the big tree and the same organic feel as our stick tree throughout the whole house and in all of our Christmas decorating.

I’m really happy with how it turned out.

The greenery was on sale at Michael’s, it was $2.50 per branch, and the pinecones were already attached. I just added some leftover pinecones I had from last Christmas on each side of the greenery to bulk it up. The stars came from Goodwill, $2 for all three. I think they’re supposed to be holders of some kind, but as soon as I saw them, I knew they’d be perfect for my mantle. I had Katherine dig through all the Christmas boxes and get me every red ball she could find. She did pretty well, I’d say. I think I have a thing for the stick tree this year, I think it’s just so organic and not fussy. The garland was an idea from Miss Mustard Seed. She used the most gorgeous German glass glitter on her garland, and I was so inspired, but I didn’t have the budget for that. I emailed her and asked for other suggestions for glitter (since I’m a glitter noob). She suggested Martha Stewart’s tinsel glitter. SUCH a good suggestion! And can I also say, Miss Mustard Seed…so sweet, so kind and so helpful!

I couldn’t find the same letters she used, but the kids liked these, they said they liked how they were all “crazy”. I suppose that kind of fits us! I really love how they turned out, and I can’t believe I did it myself. I’ve never done anything that crafty before! And the best part is (besides the part that they’re totally gorgeous) I only spent about $13 on it. The glitter and letters were both about $5 each, the twine was less that $3. I also made ones that say, “Hope”, “Joy” and “Noel”. Hope and Joy are each around a lampshade (see below) and Noel is over the kitchen window.

The mason jar is a take on Melissa’s Jingle Bell Jar, how cute is that? The bird used to be a scary green ceramic-like bird I got for like a dollar at TJ Maxx this spring. I never really liked it as much as I did in the store, but I finally put it to good use. I just painted glue all over it and covered it with tinsel glitter, same as the letters. I couldn’t get a good evening picture, but with the lights from tree, the glitter really sparkles.

I’m so, so happy with how everything came out. I could do another post, just with all the pictures I took. That’s how much I love it!

Lastly, for good measure (and because it’s the last regular season Georgia game today), here’s a peek at what we did outside.

Go Dawgs! Gotta show the UGA love!

So how about you? What are you doing for decorations this year?

2 Responses to “more christmas decorating”

  1. Amy Cunningham November 28, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    LOVE the decorating and love how you captured it in these photos!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. christmas tour of homes « twentysixfiftyeight - January 20, 2011

    […] in the way *wink*. So if you’re interesting in all the deets, you can look here, here, here and […]

Leave a Reply

