this ain’t no charlie brown christmas tree

10 Dec

Remember back when I told you about the tree that my new and wonderful friend gave us? Here’s what you saw.

Pretty, right? Well here’s what you didn’t see.

Yup. Those are zip ties holding our pretty tree up. My friend didn’t have the original base that went on the tree, but did give me this tree stand to use. Now, I’m sure that for a normal person, this was a great solution. It was completely hidden by the tree skirt and no one would’ve ever know. But I’ve never been accused of being normal. I thought about it all the time. It haunted my dreams. And even though Chris secured it with the zip ties, I was terrified it was going to fall over, it wasn’t perfect enough, even though you couldn’t see it, *I* knew it wasn’t quite right.

So in my daily perusal of blogs, I found this post by The Inspired Room, all about creative tree stands. I drooled over this one.

Oh dear Lord, look at that bucket! The silver, the galvanized, the country-ness of it all! The tree is sitting IN the bucket! I had to have this in my house. This was going to solve all of my tree problems! I’d just put the tree IN the bucket! Yeah, I know, great idea in theory, bad in application (like so many of my ideas!). Long story short, the tree stand wouldn’t fit in the bucket. But I’m not about to let a little thing like measurements stand in my way. I. Had. A. Plan…

Ok so, you’ve heard of play sand, right? It’s literally what you fill up sandboxes with. It costs less than $4 a bag at Home Depot, and is sold in 50 pound bags. We also got the bucket at Home Depot, and it was about $20. Normally I wouldn’t spend that much on something like this, but I’ve been wanting a bucket like this for awhile and I really think I can do a lot more fun projects with it. I had my wonderful husband haul 3 bags (150 pounds) of sand and dump them in the bucket. I should also take this opportunity to say that Chris (as usual) was pretty awesome about this. He didn’t even raise his eyebrows when I told him we were going to stick our Christmas tree in a bucket full of sand. He simply said, ok baby. If that’s what you want. He’s such a good husband!

Then we stuck the tree in, and wouldn’t you know it? It stayed up. I mean like, it’s not moving, it’s like it’s in cement! I used a burlap feed bag I had and put it around the base to cover up the sand. Then, because I was feeling very Martha-esque, I got some fat red sparkly ribbon and wound it around the tree. Put all the ornaments back on (I probably didn’t have to take them all off, but after all the moving and wiggling around we had to do to get it into the sand, it was for the best), and all I can say is, WOW.

Davey says it’s the prettiest tree he’s ever seen. I can’t say I disagree with him. I love how it looks so full and…I don’t know the right words…decorated? The bucket is perfection.

So for now (for good?), I deem this, our perfect tree. It’s even Vivvy approved!

I linked to Thrifty Decor Chick’s Christmas Tree party!

2 Responses to “this ain’t no charlie brown christmas tree”

  1. Amy Cunningham December 10, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    I don't even know HOW you do it, but you continue to outdo yourself!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. christmas tour of homes « twentysixfiftyeight - January 20, 2011

    […] words getting in the way *wink*. So if you’re interesting in all the deets, you can look here, here, here and […]

Leave a Reply

