4 years

1 Jan
Remember when we were in that crappy little restaurant and you put on that ridiculous hat? Remember how I laughed and laughed, until my stomach ached because I thought you looked like a bear? Remember how the kids thought we were crazy, carrying on laughing like we did. The people in the restaurant were staring, and we didn’t care. It was just you and just me. The whole world faded into a haze, the kind reserved for the scene right before the credits roll in a romantic comedy. Our whole relationship has been that way, oblivious to the outside world.

When things are hard, and life gets in the way, that’s what I remember. I remember all the roadtrips, the wooly mammoths and ham and cheese omelets. I remember how there’s no one on earth I have more fun with, how there’s no one on earth I’d rather be with.

I remember how it feels when I’m near you, how my heart races faster when you’re in the room. I remember how I still get butterflies every day when you pull into the driveway. I remember how when you can’t find the right words to say, you make stupid joke that makes me laugh in spite of myself. Or how you write me silly poems and stories to break the tension. I remember how very, very much I love you.

Happy Anniversary.

I have found the one my soul loves–Song of Solomon 3:4

One Response to “4 years”

  1. christinaea January 3, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    I have gotten slack on my blog reading recently.. I am so glad I didnt miss this one. It is absolutely precious!

Leave a Reply

