“do you have a goal? you gotta have a goal!”

4 Jan

I had an absolute blissful vacation from reality: no home projects (well, ok one. But I did that one yesterday so it doesn’t really count), no DIY, no blogging, no writing, no nothing. The kids were on vacation from school for two weeks, Chris took the first week off and we all just hung out every day. We slept in, played board games, ordered pizza, stayed up way too late laughing and being silly…it was really awesome. The second week, we did more vegging, we’d hang out with Chris during the day, then at night the kids and I would, do a project or bake something, watch tv, really just embodying the word vacation, or sloth. In this case they’re pretty interchangeable. Besides being able to spend so much time together, I really relished in fact that I had nothing to but think, plan, plot and dream. After a year of putting things together on the fly, making it work Tim Gunn-style, and never making any time for what I enjoyed, I really needed the recharge.

I’m not one for New Year’s resolultions. I think they’re pretty much failure waiting to happen, so I just made goals for 2011. I’m more of a goal-oriented person anyway. But instead of just saying them out loud, I wrote them down. I read somewhere that if you write down your goals, you’re much more likely to succeed. I don’t know how true that is, but that’s what I did. I made a “vision board” and wrote down all of my goals. Well, I didn’t make it, I downloaded an app for my iPhone, because let’s be honest, a vision board just sounds like way too much clutter in my house. Anyway, the idea is that when I look at it, I’ll be reminded and inspired of what I want.

So here we go. Goals for 2011.

1. Read at least 5 books. Believe it or not I read one book last year. ONE. Granted it was a crazy good book, “The Pillars of the Earth” by Ken Follett, which just by the way, is seriously one of the best books I’ve ever read. It’s an amazing story. Starz made a mini-series about it this past summer, but that wasn’t nearly as good. Anyway, I was supposed to read the “Twilight” series, I even borrowed them from a friend, and I tried to start them about 12 times. I’m just completely not interested. So no Twilight for me. I’ve watched the movies with Kat, but that’s about all the Twilight I can stand. Anyway, I love to read. Reading one book in 365 days is unacceptable. So I’m shooting for at least 5 this year.

2. Read “To Kill a Mockingbird”. I’ve never read it. I’ve always wanted to, so I will. This one doesn’t count in the 5 books though.

3. Read “Tom Sawyer”. How have I not read this? I’m not really sure. But I think I should. This one also doesn’t count for one of the 5.

4. Dedicate time each day to write. I love to write. It’s what I’ve always loved to do. I loved to write before there were such things as blogs. I used to dream about someday being a professional writer and seeing one of my stories on a shelf in the bookstore. Somewhere along the way I kind of lost that and declared writing to be nothing more than a past-time, not worthy of my “precious” time. I miss it terribly. I feel like there’s been a piece of me missing since I stopped. I believe that God gives everyone has talents, and people have always said writing was mine. I don’t know if they’re right or not, but I want to try.

5. Get paid to write. The ultimate validation maybe? I just really want someone other than my friends and family think that what I have to say is worthy of being read. While I don’t need to find self-worth in a paycheck, it would be kind of nice.

6. Keep a gratitude journal. Inspired by our “Thanks Jar” (another post about that coming soon), I decided that being thankful and showing gratitude for everything that I’ve been given is never a bad thing. I really love it so far. I downloaded an app for that too, which I love. It’s called “Gratitude Journal” by Happy Tapper. You can check it out here. And no, wasn’t paid a dime for that plug. I wasn’t ever contacted by anyone from Happy Tapper, and I would highly doubt they even know I exist. I just really like this application. If you have an android, you should get a gratitude journal app, and if you don’t have an android or iPhone, get a plain old notebook. I paid 99 cents for this app, and it was so completely worth it. I’ve done it only for a few days and I find it calms and centers me…keeps me focused on what’s good.

7. Make my marriage better. That’s a pretty blanket statement, and isn’t really specific, but I do have some ideas. I’m going do the “The Love Dare” again. I downloaded a daily devotional app for that, so there should be no excuse not to do it, since it’s right on my phone. I also got an app for just the 40 Love Dares, in case I was a total slacker and didn’t do the devotional. I also want to take more time with Chris, be more patient, more forgiving and more understanding. Without going into too much detail, we’ve had a really hard time the past few months, and it’s time to knock it off and get back to being awesome.

So there you have it. My goals for 2011. With a little help from App Store and the local library, I should have no problem. Or at least that’s the plan.

How about you? Do you have resolutions or goals? How are you going to achieve them

P.S. The quote in the title is from Pretty Woman. Kit De Luca (Julia Robert’s best friend) says it.

Leave a Reply

